Inter Scholastics: 1923

Twenty five schools taking part in 1922 was very good but even more – twenty nine to be exact – took part on 19th May, 1923.   The meeting was held at the Rugby Union Fields in Edinburgh with 345 pupils taking part before a smaller crowd than the event merited.  Looking back at the meeting the ‘star’ of the show was TM Riddell of Glasgow High School who won the Mile, an event’he never looked like losing’ by 40 yards.   He went on to be a multi title holder in SAAA championships and prolific record setter.

Among the schools taking part were Allan Glen’s, Ayr Academy, Boroughmuir, Broughton, Dalkeith Academy, Dalmuir HS, Dollar Academy, Dundee High School, Dunfermline High School, Eastbank Academy, George Heriot’s, Glasgow High School, Gordon’s College, James Gillespie’s, Kilmarnock Academy, Leith Academy, McLaren HS (Callander), Rothesay Academy, Royal High School, Shawlands Academy, Stewart’s College, Trinity Academy and Waid Academy.  This prompted the reporter for the ‘Scotsman’ to say that “the successes gained by the Dundee, Kilmarnock, Boroughmuir, Dunfermline and Rothesay representatives indicates a progressive movement in connection with provincial school athletics.”    A wee bit patronising perhaps?    The results below are as printed in the ‘Scotsman’ of 21st May 1923.

The results are summarised below, starting with the Open Events

Event Winner School Performance
100 Yards AM McKay Leith Academy 10.5 seconds
440 Yards AM McKay Leith Academy 54.2 seconds
One Mile TM Riddell Glasgow High School 4 min 49.4 sec
120 Yards  Hurdles JFA Wood Stewart’s College 16.6 seconds
High Jump JFA Wood Stewart’s College 5’3″
Broad Jump JFA Wood Stewart’s College 20′ 2 1/2″
Throwing the Javelin J Morton Shawlands Academy 93 yards 1 foot 0 inches
Putting the Weight DA McGill Kilmarnock Academy 34′ 0 1/2″
Relay Boroughmuir HS 1408 Yards 3 minutes 7 seconds

Under 16

Event Winner School Performance
100 Yards W Simison Leith Academy 11.4 seconds
880 Yards A Dalziel Dunfermline High School 2 minutes 18 seconds
120 Yards Relay T Liddell Allan Glen’s 19.4 seconds
High Jump WT Stoddart George Heriot’s 4′  1  1/2″ 9 1/2″
Broad Jump A Lees Trinity Academy 18′ 

Under 14

Event Winner School Performance
100 Yards B Mitchell Trinity Academy 11.8 seconds
300 Yards B Mitchell Trinity Academy 41 seconds
High Jump H Matheson

J Smith

Dollar Academy

Rothesay Academy

4′  4″
Broad Jump C Brown Dollar Academy 16′ 9″
Relay George Heriot’s 704 Yards 1 minute 33.4 seconds

The number of competing schools continued to rise, the number of boys competing also rose and the geographical spread of the schools widened with every meeting.