Inter-Scholastics 1920

The numbers of participating schools in the inter-scholastics had been gradually increasing but the entry in 1920 was outstanding – the previous best of 18 establishments was well below this year’s 23 schools taking part.    It was a very good mix of schools too.  The ‘Scotsman’ comments on the meeting read:   

For the twenty first annual inter-scholastic sports held on Saturday at the Scottish Football Union Field, Inverleith, the weather was of a highly favourable character.   A large gathering was present and as the proceeds were in aid of the funds of the Edinburgh Royal Infirmary, this institution should as a result benefit greatly.   There was an unprecedented entry of twenty-three schools, and all through the events were keenly contested.   LJ Dunn of Watson’s College, the Scottish hurdles champion, set up a new record for the inter-scholastic hurdle race (his time of 15 4-5th seconds equals the Scottish all-comers record set in 1905 by RS Stronach); GAD Young, who a fortnight ago created a new record for the mile at Dollar Academy games, had no difficulty in setting up a new record for the inter-scholastic mile; GA MacKenzie, Whitehill, added half an inch to the under 16 high jump record; while A Bradley, Dollar, and JS Boyd, Leith, both tied for the under 14 high jump, created a new record for this event.   

C Watt of Dollar failed to reproduce his own games form for the high jump and in consequence had to be content with an equal first with LJ Dunn.   The relay races which brought the meeting to a close proved exceedingly popular and exciting.   Mr T  Jack was referee; Mr TS McKerchar was starter; and Messrs J Bartleman, G Hume, D Taylor and DS Duncan were timekeepers.   The pipe bands of George Heriot’s School and George Watson’s College were in attendance.

The comments on LJ Dunn (Watson’s) were interesting – his career highlights, competing for Watson’s and then Edinburgh University, were as follows:

*won the SAAA 120 yards hurdles championship in 1919 [while still at school],

*been second in 1920, first again in 1921,

*won both hurdles and long jump in 1922,

*in 1923 was second in the hurdles and first in the long jump,   and

*second in both events in 1924 and was clearly an outstanding athlete.  

The ‘Scotsman’ report on the 1919 SAAA Championships read as follows:

He also competed for Scotland in the triangular international with Ireland and England being second in the hurdles and third in the long jump.    


The summary of the winners, schools and times follows.


100 Yards LJ Dunn Watson’s College 10.8 seconds
440 Yards JG McColl Perth Academy 56.2 seconds
One Mile GA Young Dollar Institution 4:50.4*
120 Yards Hurdles LJ Dunn Watson’s College 15.8 seconds *
High Jump C Watt

LJ Dunn

Dollar Institution

Watson’s College

5′  5 1/4″
Broad Jump H Speed Trinity Academy 19′ 0″
Throwing the Cricket Ball I Davidson Dollar Academy 91 Yards 2 Feet 2 Inches
Putting the Weight J Waugh Allan Glen’s High School 32′ 7″
Relay 1408 Yards Watson’s College 3 min 08.2 seconds


100 Yards G Drummond Bellahouston Academy 11 seconds
880 Yards A Campbell Dollar Academy 2:17.8
120 Yards Hurdles A Dobbie Royal High School 20 seconds
High Jump G MacKenzie Whitehill 5′ 1 1/2″
Broad Jump D Milne Trinity Academy 17′ 5″


100 Yards W Andreoli Ayr Academy 12.2 seconds
300 Yards N Clements Dumbarton Academy 41 seconds
High Jump A Bradley

J Boyd

Dollar Academy

Leith Academy

4′ 6″
Broad Jump W Murray Trinity Academy 15′ 7″
Relay 704 Yards Watson’s College 1 min 36.2 sec

The table above is interesting in the number of schools named, ie the scatter of results indicates that no school had a monopoly.   The Open winners came from 6 schools (9 events), Under 16 had 5 schools represented (from 5 events) and the Under 14’s had 6 winners (6 events).   A total of eleven schools were represented among the winners: Allan Glen’s, Ayr, Bellahouston, Dollar,  Dumbarton, Leith, Perth, Royal High School, Trinity, Whitehill and Watson’s.   Other schools again were among the second and third places – Broughton, Dunfermline, Falkirk HS, Gillespie’s Heriot’s, Stewart’s – and this spread of awards indicates a very healthy state of affairs.   17 schools were represented in the prize lists.